The Unsent Letter

​Dear best friend,

  I know you want to laugh reading the above line itself but hold on. I have to say some things to you and I know I won’t be able to say them to your face.

  My life is a very simple one but you are the crazy adventure I look forward to everyday. I have tried to be the perfect person in all aspects of my life and I struggle with it everyday, but with you I’m myself. Its a relief meeting you, no masks, no drama, no trying to be perfect struggle. You are the therapist and the family I can go to anytime without worrying about what you will think about me. You have been a sister, a brother, a partner in crime, a teacher and pretty much anything I needed at the moment. 

  We’ve known each other long enough to understand we’re very different people but that difference never mattered. Only thing that mattered was you being there for me, and you were just like I was there for you. You taught me a lot and I pretty much became a teacher for you. We had our differences, our fights, and a lot of them too, but get past that was as easy as starting one. 

  So, my point being thank you my bestie for always being there, for understanding when I couldn’t explain myself. When we grow up we thank our parents and family for their support but forget our friends who have more than been there through our tough times making us believe in ourselves, and you have done just that. Its hard for parents to understand us everytime especially in our teenage. You being the backup made me feel like I could fight the entire universe (sarcastically speaking of course). You gave me the confidence that I could make my own decisions and it was okay to screw up sometimes. We’re not perfect we never were but our stupid crazy lunatic friendship has been the best time of my life. Thank you for being my friend and letting me be yours. Our journey has been crazy and I know this for a fact that my boring life is colorless without you. 

  I know “friendship mein no sorry no thank you” rule, but you more than deserve it. Love you always.

  – Your idiot..!!

Leave a comment